My thoughts on “You look disgusting”

I am most certain of that every one at some point must have felt their self esteem hit rock bottom at some point at least once. And when you love someone and have received your morning message and love you message makes you feel warmer and more comfortable with who you are. But then we have something that can make all of this positive energy shatter and collapse just like that, the force of the media, anorms and everyone else.

The reason why I have decided to discuss this is because I just minutes ago came across this video on the Internet, feel free to watch it or keep reading if you prefer that instead. Please note that even tho this channel and video is focusing a lot on acne (which I haven’t really had a problem with even during my teenage years), I personally do believe that the message and topic of this video is highly accurate and important to think about and to be considered and remembered by anyone before just saying things because Sticks and stones may break your bones but Words can break hearts. The channel consists of great videos of coverages of acne and more so feel free to check it out, I’ll put all the links in the end of this post for you to check it out and read more about it.

I’ll give you a few minutes to let this sink in and give you some brief background information on the matter…
In today’s society we have all been experiencing at least once that we are getting judged by people, and when Internet is such an established part of our and society’s everyday life, this tends to become more and more common. Stereotypes and what’s sexy, attractive, or preferred, values on what’s normal, expected or natural and imprinted opinions on what is to be considered gross, unattractive or just not acceptable have been around for too long for us to even notice it.

Personally I’ve noticed that every now and when when I am on the Internet or when I walk outside I get mocked for who I am and what I look like, a part of my every day life that I am not particularly found of but a part of it nonetheless. The latest example I can give you from my personal life is taken from when I was out at the club about a week ago where a clearly affected (by alcohol) middle aged woman had a go at me, a go which with all honesty made me giggle and still puts a smirk on my lips as I’m writing this. I’ll come back to styles and fashion in later posts because those are actually areas that interests me in several ways, more on that later. Back to the clip I shared.

YOU LOOK DISGUSTING
This video was initially created to show that how the social media’s have been affecting us, with or without our knowledge, when it comes to setting unrealistic expectations for both men and women alike. Having this is mind, it isn’t that much of a puzzle to figure out one of the reasons where low self esteem can originate from, that this can be added on the constantly inceased expectations from the institutions when it comes to work performance or study performances just to mention a few. But the very key message that I want to bring up here and that I base a lot of my values around is what this video was made to point out – You ARE beautiful

As stated in the very description of this video;

You are beautiful – no matter how flawed you feel, no matter how upset you may be about the way you look or how hard you find it to make friends, or be confident. Believe in yourself, and never let anyone tell you’re not beautiful – not even yourself.

For anyone who have read this, this is the first in a very new serial topic that I’ve decided to do which will be updated every once in a while about norms, beauty and acceptance that will include everything from makeup and skin problems to fashion and subcultural aesthetics and more. Thank you for reading this and a big thanks to Em Ford, the brain behind all of this and feel free to check out her sites and join the discussion and share your thoughts – #YOULOOKDISGUSTING
Blog: My Pale Skin
Twitter: My Pale Skin
Youtube: My Pale Skin
Instagram: My Pale Skin

I know this might have been a promotional post but I do consider that the essence of this video is very essential and that this should be considered much more acceptable than it is today. Stay strong, beautiful and try to remember that despite how you might feel about it.
Like, comment and follow for more and why not share it to help all of us out.
Stay tuned for more.
Blessed be!

DISCLAIMER
I do not work with Em Ford nor do I know her. I think that this is a very powerful message that needs to be shared, so does her work.

3 Comments

  1. Can you please write more about the therapy you will undergo in the future? Why do you not want to take pills do ease the pain?

    I want you to share more of the darkness within you, this so so interesting.

    One thing i have been woundering about is, the fact that it seem so important for you to have a girlfriend/partner, like that is eating up alot of your time and thoughts. You are still young!

Leave a Reply

